What is the full form of UNESCO

UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is a specialized agency of United Nations. It is created in 1946 to promote security and peace through international collaboration. It promotes education, science, culture and human rights along with fundamental freedom. There are 195 member states and 9 associate members in UNESCO. It is headquartered in Paris, France and have offices in other countries too. Its head office is known as “World Heritage Center”.

click here –  What is the full form of UPA

UNECSO attains its objective through the five programs:

  1. Education
  2. Natural Sciences
  3. Culture
  4. Social/Human Sciences
  5. Communication/Information

Projects sponsored by UNESCO

  • Literacy Programs
  • Freedom of Press
  • Technical Training Programs
  • Teachers Training Programs
  • Regional and Cultural Diversity Promotion
  • Human Rights Protection
  • Translation of World Literature
  • Secure World Heritage Sites
  • International Cooperation

click here – 8 ways to take screenshot in windows 10

UNESCO provides awards for the excellence in different fields. Currently 22 prizes are provided by UNESCO in the field of education, science, culture and peace. UNESCO has official relation with 322 International NGOs.

UNESCO always takes a lead in the field of educational research, Poverty eradication, reserve natural and historical sites, enhancing cultural and social activities etc. Current Director-General of UNESCO is Audrey Azoulay.